The Journey Begins

Great book!

Great book!

I received my copy of I’d Rather Be in the Studio by Alyson Stanfield today. I bought it by faith (I’ve only read a few online excerpts), and I am loving it so far! This is the type of info I’ve needed to get my business up and running. I am an artist, but so far, I’ve not been a good business person. Self-promotion always seemed hokey and self-absorbed to me: that is, until my sales started falling off. I truly appreciate the support of my family and friends. But my goal is to expose my creative self to the world, and if I end up with 100+ faithful supporters and collectors, I am golden! That’s over 100 people who are touched by what touches me, and that’s a beautiful thing.

I also bought a book called The Compete Guide to E-Mail Marketing by Bruce Brown. I haven’t started that one yet: I need to have a few other ducks in line so that I can hit the ground running! My goal… to revamp my site, organize my studio, and send out my first email blast… all by January 18th! That’s fair to me, especially since I work full-time right now, and have a family. I believe in myself, my art, and my talent. And I’m beginning to believe in myself as a strong, committed, successful business person, too!

3 thoughts on “The Journey Begins

  1. Stefani, I’m glad you’re enjoying the book! I look forward to returning (after you read the chapter on Web sites and blogs) and seeing more pictures of your work. After all, I think you’ll have more like 500 fans than just 100. 🙂

    Happy holidays!

  2. Thanks, Alyson, for the encouragement… and the book is fantastic! I already have ideas — in my head and on paper — for the new design, marketing ideas, etc. I take full responsibility for my success, and that’s an empowering way to live! Happy holidays to you, too!

  3. Hey Steph,
    Great photographs and story. Know you were glad to return home, you could get warm. I know it was a great day for you guys though. I cried from the time it started until the very end of the broadcasts even while watching the Inauguration Balls, especially their first dance. Plus the next day when they showed everything from the beginning the next two/three days I was still crying. Words are hard to find how I feel about having a President in office with so much diversity on all levels. He is a very strong being and I am behind him 100%. Also, would you think about (if you can) uploadig your story and photos on our family site. Robin has a photo of Obama on the front page and was asking for comments. Would like to know if other family members who live in the area went also. Anyway, it was a pleasure reading your story and seeing photos from the event, especially the one taken with Obama (even if it was a cutout), but you did have my heart pounding when I first laid eyes on it. Sending Much Love to You, Lou

Leave a Reply

