R.I.P. to a Timeless Family Treasure

Today my family is saying farewell to my Aunt Rhett. She was born and raised on The Main Line, a suburban section of Philadelphia which has a flair of sophistication and a hint of wealth… and she was the poster child.

Aunt Rhett was a gentle soul, and probably one of the smartest women I’ve ever known. Her mannerisms wreaked of grace, and she always had a kind word or two to say.

My favorite memory of her is when she and her [late] husband, Uncle Detrick, hosted a family dinner at their home in Germantown. They had recently returned from a trip to Switzerland, and brought home an authentic Swiss clock. I was no more than 8 years old at the time, and had never seen anything quite as beautiful. Every time I passed the clock, I would stop and stare at its beautiful face. I knew that I was in the presence of something very rare.

The memory of that clock and my Aunt Rhett go hand-in-hand. She, like the clock, was wonderfully and  beautifully made. And her time here is now over. I don’t know what happened to the clock all these 40+ years later, but I do know that Aunt Rhett lived a graceful and peaceful life. And now she rests with Uncle Detrick and will be missed.

She was 94 years young.

Much love, Aunt Rhett…

Leave a Reply

